Skip to content

Join     Member Directory     Login     REACH

Recognition Committee

The purpose of the Recognition Committee is to find ways to celebrate our members for their achievements, accomplishments, anniversaries, and more!

The committee strives to create a culture of appreciation and validation for our members’ hard work. The committee is tasked with soliciting nominations and selecting award recipients at both the Opelika Chamber organization level and state level. We use our award programming to advocate for and raise awareness of our business community and their accomplishments. For example, the chamber awards a small business of the quarter, minority business of the quarter, and a multitude of awards at our Annual Meeting.

Nominate a Small Business!

Click the button to nominate a small business to be considered for our upcoming                          Small Business of the Quarter Award.

Nominate a Minority Business!

Click the button to nominate a minority business to be considered for our upcoming                          Minority Business of the Quarter Award.

2021 Awards

Ambassador of the Year: Billy Plummer

Chairman's Award: Chuck Beams

Community Partner Award: Opelika City Schools

Distinguished Service Award: Eddie Smith

Diamond Award: East Alabama Health

Service Champion Award: Tori Majia

Large Business of the Year: Baxter International Inc.

Small Business of the Year: Angles Antiques & Flea Mall

Legendary Award: Samford & Denson

Spirit of Opelika Award: Kate Larkin

Visionary Award: Jeremy Gray

Young Professional Award: Melissa Munford


Small Business of the Quarter - October 2021: Anytime Fitness

Committee Members

Laura Cooper, Board Chair

Becky Brown

Carlton E. Hunley

Raven Harvis


Tipi Miller

John Sweatman

Nakeda Woods

Kendra Nix

Tabitha White

Ronnie Wilson

Amberly Pressley

Eric McDade

If you would like more information on Opelika Chamber's committees & councils, contact

Mackenzie Poole, Director of Leadership & Events at