• United State Chamber of Commerce Accredited & State Accredited logo
  • Lee County Young Leaders

  • Young-Leaders.jpg
  • 2018-2019 Young Leaders at Auburn University for Education Day
  • Sessions / Habitude Lessons

    Modeled after Leadership Lee County, as well as some youth leadership programs across the state, the Lee County Young Leaders program (LCYL) is a program of the Opelika Chamber of Commerce. One of the goals of the Chamber is to help grow leaders in our community to meet future challenges that arise in our city, county and state. The program serves as a vehicle to help cultivate the potential in our young people to assume positions of responsibility in their communities at an early age. Twenty-seven juniors in high schools, home schools and private schools in Lee County are chosen for the program through an application process. The 9-month program requires one full day out of school which is an excused absence. The student also receives a 1 hour Leadership credit to Southern Union.

    Lee County Young Leaders 2018-2019

  • Auburn High School
    Tyler Tanaka
    Louie Harris
    Gabrielle Billingslea
    Harper McGowan
    Bailey Bishop

    Beauregard High
    Kate Senn
    Jadon Massey
    Daisy Alice Gilmer

    Beulah High
    Joshua Friedman
    Sydney Knight

    Loachapoka High School
    Makiya Richardson
    LaDerrial Thomas

    Glenwood Academy
    Carter Copeland

  • Opelika High School
    Dozier Smith T
    Evita Debrow
    Braden Gregory

    Smiths Station High
    Riley Young
    Noah Ligon
    Ethan Girona
    Makayla Britton
    Tony Bond

    Trinity Christian
    Juliet Nell

    Lee- Scott Academy
    Camille Daughtery Kraus
    Alli Scott

    Home School
    Wilson Reeves

  • 2018-2019  Sponsors
           Opelika City Council  l Glynn Smith Chevrolet - Buick - GMC
    Walmart DC  l  Pharmative   l  Baxter International  l  Auburn Kiwanis
    l Southern Union State Community College  l  City of Smiths Station


    Young Leader Board of Directors
    Dinah Motley, Director                     Opelika Chamber of Commerce       
    Dr. Jason Wright, Chair                   Lee County Schools
    Andrea Mitchell, Vice Chair            City of Auburn, Economic Development
    Judy Jones, Secretary                    Retired, Social Worker
    Pam Norris, Treasurer                     AMSTI - Auburn University
    Tara Barr                                           Extension Office
    Cat Bobo                                           Auburn Opelika Tourism Bureau
    Eva Bright                                         Retired, Fire Station
    Bailey Ward                                      Auburn University
    John Gwin                                        City of Opelika, Engineer
    Patricia A. (Patsy) Jones                 Retired, Educator, Opelika City Council
    Katie Murray                                     Opelika City Schools

    Dr. Patsy Parker                               Southern Union State Community College
    Marie Harris                                      Auburn City Schools
    Corneillus Richardson                    Lee County Youth Development Center
    Myles Tatum                                     MidSouth Paving, Inc.
    Fred Woods                                      Retired, Newspaper

    Gary Branch                                      Southern Union State Community College
    Pam Powers-Smith                           Opelika Chamber of Commerce



  • Upcoming Events Upcoming Events


    See list of events »